法律教育网

法律英语

2019瑞达法考客观题学习包

考试内容 报名条件 报名时间 报名方法

成绩查询 考试时间 分 数 线 授予资格

您的位置:法律教育网 > 法律英语 > 英文法规 > 正文

Implied Consent Laws

2016-02-15 12:01  来源:   纠错

After stopping a motorist on suspicion of DUI, the officer typically checks for signs of impairment and may ask the driver to submit to a breathalyzer test to determine his or her blood-alcohol concentration (BAC)

But not everyone willingly provides a breath sample and police officers cannot force DUI suspects to blow into a tube. More than 20 percent of drunk driving suspects in the U.S. refuse to take a breathalyzer or other BAC test when an officer suspects drunk driving, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) It varies greatly from state to state, from 2.4 percent in Delaware to 81 percent in New Hampshire (based on 2005 data cited by NHTSA)

DUI attorneys generally have more leverage defending their clients in the absence of breathalyzer test results. The act of refusal, though, comes with its own penalties.

Implied Consent Laws

Under “implied consent” laws in all states, when they apply for a driver's license, motorists give consent to field sobriety tests and chemical tests to determine impairment. Should a driver refuse to submit to testing when an officer has reasonable suspicion that the driver is under the influence, the driver risks automatic license suspension along with possible further penalties.

Consequences for breathalyzer refusal vary by state, which may explain the wide variance in statewide refusal rates, but most states impose an automatic six- or 12-month driver's license suspension upon refusal of a BAC test. Suspensions usually increase for a refusing motorist with past DUI convictions, sometimes including jail time. License suspension following a refusal may also cause your car insurance company to cancel your policy. In many states, if the driver is found guilty of DUI, having refused the breathalyzer can result in enhanced penalties.

Penalties for Refusing a Breathalyzer

Here is just a sample of state DUI laws with respect to breathalyzer test refusal:

California: Can result in a citation for refusing a chemical BAC test; consenting to a blood draw after initially refusing a breathalyzer test exempts the suspect from a refusal charge New York: Automatic six-month license suspension plus a possible $500 fine Massachusetts: Six-month automatic license suspension, but refusal cannot be used to imply guilt in a DUI case; lifetime suspension for refusal after three prior DUI offenses Ohio: Mandatory minimum 6-day jail sentence or three days in jail plus a 72-hour driver intervention program, and a fine, for those with a prior DUI conviction (20-day sentence if it's the second DUI charge in six years)

Consult an Experienced DUI Attorney

If you or a loved one are arrested for DUI, you may need an experienced DUI lawyer. A skilled attorney who specializes in defending DUI cases will evaluate all the evidence, including the procedure and results of any field sobriety and chemical tests, to ensure that your legal rights are protected. Plus it's important to speak to a lawyer familiar with the laws in your jurisdiction. Most offer free consultations, so your first step should be to contact an experienced DUI attorney.

责任编辑:仪

特别推荐

地图
法律教育网官方微信

法律教育网微信公众号向您推荐考试资讯、辅导资料、考试教材、历年真题、法律常识、法律法规等资讯,只有你想不到,没有我们做不到!详情>>

1、凡本网注明“来源:法律教育网”的所有作品,版权均属法律教育网所有,未经本网授权不得转载、链接、转贴或以其他方式使用;已经本网授权的,应在授权范围内使用,且必须注明“来源:法律教育网”。违反上述声明者,本网将追究其法律责任。

2、本网部分资料为网上搜集转载,均尽力标明作者和出处。对于本网刊载作品涉及版权等问题的,请作者与本网站联系,本网站核实确认后会尽快予以处理。

本网转载之作品,并不意味着认同该作品的观点或真实性。如其他媒体、网站或个人转载使用,请与著作权人联系,并自负法律责任。

3、本网站欢迎积极投稿